UEFA is striking back against the proposed European Super League, saying players from participating clubs will be banned from the World Cup and Euros.

“We are all united against this nonsense of a project. … The players that will play in the closed league will be banned from playing in the World Cup and Euros,” UEFA President Alex Ceferin said Monday.

Twelve of Europe’s most powerful clubs announced the formation of the Super League on Sunday, a competition that seeks to reshape the power structure of European club soccer. The plan calls for a constant group of 15 teams to be joined by five rotating champions from other leagues, ostensibly replacing the UEFA Champions League as the top European club competition.

AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham Hotspur are set as the current founding members.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.